Skip to main content
University Logo
MyDrury / Email / Moodle

Olin Library: Art & Art History: Find Books & Videos

Find Books, Videos, and Other Materials

The following catalogs are in order from the most local to global.

  • Drury Catalog Search for books, videos, etc. held by Drury University.
  • SWAN Search for books, etc. held by 9 colleges/universities in SW Missouri including Drury.
  • MOBIUS Search for books, etc. held by 68 colleges/universities in Missouri (including Drury) plus 2 public and the State Library of Missouri.
  • Public Library Springfield-Greene County Public (with a branch one block west of Drury).
  • WorldCat  Search for books, videos, etc. held by libraries all over the world.

A note about Interlibrary Loan. If the book is in Drury, Swan or Mobius, you can request it yourself from within the catalog. If the book must come from someplace besides a Mobius library, use interlibrary loan. It is free, but you will have to pay for any overdue fines you incur.

 

Browsing the Library Stacks

Books on the 2nd floor of the Olin Library are divided into the "main", "oversize" and "double oversize" collections. Using the Library of Congress Classification Scheme, Call #s are arranged from A-Z.  From the top of the stairs as you look down the length of the building, the "Main" collection starts with A on your left and goes the length of the building, continues up the middle on the short ranges toward the stairs, and jumps to your right and continues back down the room toward the Zs. "Oversize" are then arranged A-Z, and the final book range holds "Double Oversized" books. Use the following call numbers to browse "Reference" books as well, which are located on the 2nd floor by the west wall.

Useful Call # ranges to browse include:

N - Visual Arts (General)
NA - Architecture
NB - Sculpture
NC - Drawing, Design, Illustration
ND - Painting
NE - Print Media
NK - Decorative arts (interiors, ceramics, metalwork, textile, furniture)

TR - Photography

TR250-265 -Cameras
TR287-500 - Photographic processing. Darkroom technique
TR504-508 - Transparencies. Diapositives
TR510-545 - Color photography
TR550-581 - Studio and laboratory
TR590-620 - Lighting
TR624-835 - Applied photography Including artistic, commercial,
medical photography, photocopying processes
TR845-899 - Cinematography. Motion pictures

TR925-1050 - Photomechanical processes

If you've ever wondered what disciplines fall under which letter within the Library of Congress classification scheme, well, here's a brief view. For a full list, go to the LC website.

A General Works
AC Collections, Series, Collected Works
AE Encyclopedias (General)
AG Dictionaries and other general reference books
AI Indexes (General)
AM Museums (General). Collectors & Collecting
AN Newspapers
AP Periodicals (General)
AS Academies and learned societies
AY Yearbooks, Almanacs, Directories
AZ History of scholarship and learning

B Philosophy, Psychology, Religion
B Philosophy (General)
BC Logic
BD Speculative philosophy
BF Psychology
BH Aesthetics
BJ Ethics, Social usages, Etiquette
BL Religion
BM Judaism
BP Islam, Bahaism, Theosophy, etc.
BQ Buddhism
BR Christianity
BT Doctrinal theology
BV Practical theology
BX Christian denominations

C Auxiliary sciences of history
C Aux. sciences of history (General)
CB History of Civilization
CC Archaeology (General)
CD Diplomatics, Archives, Seals
CE Technical chronology, Calendar
CJ Numismatics
CN Inscriptions, Epigraphy
CR Heraldry
CS Genealogy
CT Biography

D History: General and Old World
D History (General)
DA Great Britain
DAW Central Europe
DB Austria, Liechtenstein, Hungary, Czech Rep.
DC France, Andorra, Monaco
DD Germany
DE Mediterranean Region, Greco-Roman World
DF Greece
DG Italy, Sicily, Malta
DH Netherlands (Low Countries), Belgium, Luxemburg
DJ Netherlands (Holland)
DJK Eastern Europe
DK Soviet Union, Poland
DL Northern Europe
DP Spain, Portugal
DQ Switzerland
DR Balkan Peninsula
DS Asia
DT Africa
DU Oceana
DX Gypsies

E-F History: America
E America (General)
F United States Local History

G Geography, Anthropology, Recreation
G Geography (General) Atlases, Maps
GA Mathematical Geography Cartography
GB Physical geography
GC Oceanography
GF Human Ecology, Anthropogeography
GN Anthropology
GR Folklore
GT Manners and customs (General)
GV Recreation, leisure

H Social Sciences
H Social sciences (general)
HA Statistics
HB Economics
HC Economic history and conditions (by region)
HD Economic history and conditions (production)
HE Transportation and communications
HF Commerce
HG Finance
HJ Public Finance
HM Sociology
HN Social history, social problems, social reform
HQ The Family, marriage, women
HS Societies: Secret, benevolent, etc. Clubs
HT Communities. Classes. Races.
HV Social Pathology. Public welfare. Criminology.
HX Socialism. Communism. Anarchism.

J Political Science
J General legislative & executive papers
JA Collections of general works
JC Political theory, theory of the state
JF Constitutional history and administration
JK-JQ Special countries
JS Local Government
JV Colonies and colonization. Emigration & immigration
JX International law & relations.

K Law
K Law (general)
KD Law of the UK, Ireland, Scotland, Wales
KE Law of Canada
KF Law of United States
KG Latin America
KH South America
KJ Europe
KK-KKZ Germany – Yugoslavia

L Education
L Education (General)
LA History of education
LB Theory & practice of education
LC Special issues of education
LD-LG Individual institutions; universities, schools, etc.
LH College and school magazines / newspapers
LJ Student fraternities and societies
LT Textbooks

M Music and Books on Music
M Music
ML Literature of music
MT Musical instruction and study

N Fine Arts
N Visual Arts (General)
NA Architecture
NB Sculpture
NC Drawing
ND Painting
NE Print media
NK Decorative arts, applied arts, Décor. & Ornament
NX Arts in general

P Language and Literature
P Philology and linguistics (General)
PA Classical languages and literature
PB Modern European languages
PC Romance languages
PD Germanic languages
PE English
PF West Germanic
PG Slavic. Baltic, Albanian lang. & literature
PH Finno-Ugrian, Basque lang. & literature
PJ Oriental languages & literature
PK Indo-Iranian
PL Languages & lit. of Eastern Asia, Africa, Oceana
PM Hyperborean, Indian, and Artificial languages
PN Literature
PQ Romance literatures
PR English literatures
PS American literatures
PT Germanic literatures
PZ Juvenile belles lettres

Q Science
Q Science (General)
QA Mathematics
QB Astronomy
QC Physics
QD Chemistry
QE Geology
QH Natural history (General). Biology (General)
QK Botany
QL Zoology
QM Human anatomy
QP Physiology
QR Microbiology

R Medicine
R Medicine (General)
RA Public aspects of medicine
RB Pathology
RC Internal medicine. Practice of medicine
RD Surgery
RE Ophthalmology
RF Otorhinolaryngology
RG Gynecology and obstetrics
RJ Pediatrics
RK Dentistry
RL Dermatology
RM Therapeutics, pharmacology
RS Pharmacy and material medica
RT Nursing
RV Botanic, Thomsonian, and eclectic medicine
RX Homeopathy
RZ Other systems of medicine

S Agriculture
S Agriculture (General)
SB Plant culture (includes Landscape Architecture)
SD Forestry
SF Animal culture
SH Aquaculture, Fisheries, Angling
SK Hunting

T Technology
T Technology (General)
TA Engineering (General), Civil Engineering
TC Hydraulic engineering
TD Environmental technology. Sanitary engineering
TE Highway engineering. Roads and pavements.
TF Railroad engineering and operation
TG Bridge engineering
TH Building construction
TJ Mechanical engineering and machinery
TK Electrical engineering. Electronics. Nuclear engin.
TL Motor vehicles. Aeronautics. Astronautics.
TN Mining engineering. Metallurgy
TP Chemical technology
TR Photography
TS Manufactures
TT Handicrafts. Arts & Crafts.
TX Home economics

U Military Science
U Military science (General)
UA Armies: Organization, description, facilities, etc.
UB Military administration
UC Maintenance and transportation
UD Infantry
UE Cavalry. Armored and mechanized cavalry
UF Artillery
UG Military engineering. Air forces, Air warfare
UH Other services

V Naval Science
V Naval science (General)
VA Navies: Organization, description, facilities, etc.
VB Naval administration
VC Naval maintenance
VD Naval seamen
VE Marines
VG Minor services of navies
VK Navigation. Merchant marine
VM Naval architecture. Shipbuilding. Marine engin.

Z Library Science
Z Books in General
Book industries and trade
Libraries and library science
Bibliography

 

Associate Librarian for Art, Architecture, Philosophy & Religion

Jacqueline Tygart's picture
Jacqueline Tygart
Contact:
F. W. Olin Library, lower level 012

417.873.7496