DRURY UNIVERSITY
F.W. OLIN LIBRARY
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS AND ARCHIVES
USE/CIRCULATION OF MATERIALS
Rare Book Room
--Materials in the Rare Book Room do not circulate. Rare Book Room materials may be used in the Rare Book Room by Drury University faculty, students, and staff.
--Non-Drury patrons with legitimate research needs may use the Rare Book Room with the permission of the Special Collections and Archives Librarian or the Director of the Library.
-- Patrons using the Rare Book Room must always be accompanied by a member of the library staff.
--Under special circumstances, the Special Collections and Archives Librarian or the Director of the Library may allow materials from the Rare Book Room to leave the building. Decisions will be made on a case-by-case basis.
Special Collections
Books/Periodicals
--Books and periodicals kept in Special Collections do not circulate. Drury University faculty, students, and staff may use these materials within the library.
--Non-Drury patrons with legitimate research needs may use Special Collections Material with the permission of the Special Collections and Archives Librarian or the Director of the Library.
Procedure:
1. The item that the patron requests is retrieved by the Special Collections staff.
2. Item is taken to the circulation desk, where the title and call number of the item is recorded on a Special Collections check slip.
3. The patron must surrender her or his Drury ID. If a Drury ID is not available (usually for an non-Drury patron), the patron may surrender a driver's license.
4. Attach the ID to the check slip with a paper clip. The patron's ID will be held at the circulation desk. Patron can now use the book within the library.
5.When the patron returns the item to the circulation desk, circulation staff will return the patron's ID, and return the item to Special Collections Staff.
NOTE: In some cases, if the item is in a very fragile condition, or if it is an item with an unusual format (loose plates, etc.), the Special Collections Librarian may permit the patron to view the item only in the Rare Book Room, under the supervision of Special Collections Staff.
ADDITIONAL NOTE: In some instances, the Special Collection Librarian and Director of the Library may permit the circulation of some Special Collections books and magazines.
Other Archival Materials
--Other Special Collections materials (photographs, papers, etc.) may be viewed by Drury University faculty, students and staff in the Rare Book Room. Patrons will always be accompanied by a Special Collections staff person.
--Other materials in Special Collections may be checked out for special projects. In such cases, Special Collections staff will compile a detailed inventory of the material being checked out. This inventory will also list the patron's name and phone number. Three copies of this inventory will be produced: one for the patron, one for the Special Collections Librarian, and one to be placed with the material that is being checked out.
--Non-Drury patrons with legitimate research needs may use the materials in Special Collections with the permission of the Special Collections and Archives Librarian and the Director of the Library. Under certain circumstances, non-Drury patrons may be allowed to check out materials; decisions will be made on a case-by-case basis.
WWG
Reviewed 08/28/08
