Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Acronyms and Dictionaries
FOLDOC: Free Online Dictionary of Computing
A searchable dictionary of acronyms, jargon, programming languages, tools, architecture, operating systems, networking, theory, conventions, standards, mathematics, telecomms, electronics, institutions, companies, projects, products, history, etc.
Netlingo: A Dictionary of the Internet Language
Contains definitions of hundreds of words emerging as a new vocabulary surrounding the technology and community of the Internet and World Wide Web. The intent is to chart a lexicon specific to the digital frontier, reflecting the unique cybercuture.
"The only online dictionary and search engine you need for computer and Internet technology."
The Ada Project
A Collection of Resources for Women in Computing. The Ada Project provides links and resources for women in computing, including job, career, grant, education, bibliographical, historical and other related information.
A valuable site containing material relating to computer ethics under three main headings: Ethics Institutes & Organization; Topics & Issues; Publications.
The History of Computing
"This collection of materials relating to the history of computing is provided courtesy of the Department of Computer Science at Virginia Tech, and is sponsored in part by a grant from the National Science Foundation."
The definitive Web site on bots of all kinds.
The most comprehensive Web site available on every aspect of the Internet.
A much honored Web site providing more than 30,000 file downloads on programming languages, source code, articles & tutorials, development tools, libraries, and so on.
The comprehensive Web site on Visual Basic.
Women and Computer Science
A large collection of valuable links relating to career prospects and problems for women in computer science; includes a link to a related page on Women and Minorities in Science and Engineering.