Olin Library: Chemistry: Websites

Searchable index of abbreviations. Examples: ALA = alanine | DMF = N,N-dimethylformamide | DMSO = dimethyl sulfoxide | THF =tetrahydrofuran.

A commercial source of valuable data describing the research and uses of all of the elements, including properties, applications, and safety information.

ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 100 million structures from hundreds of data sources.

A key resource in the field of crystallography.

Contains thermochemical data for over 4000 organic and small inorganic compounds; also heat of reaction data for over 1300 reactions, IR spectra for over 5000 compounds, mass spectra for over 8000 compounds, and ion energetics data on over 12000 compounds

A very useful reference in the field of organometallic chemistry.

A set of simple interactive calculators for chemistry and other disciplines.

A periodic table database which includes the first 109 elements. It goes beyond the typical periodic table to provide near encyclopedic information on each element.

Develops and maintains the Cambridge Structural Database Systems that contains comprehensive data for organic and organometallic compounds studied by x-rays and neutron diffraction.

A resource for nanoscience and nanotechnology, nanoHUB.org was created by the NSF-funded Network for Computational Nanotechnology.

PubChem is an open chemistry database from the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
It mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. We collect information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.

ACS News Service Blog aimed at journalists who cover scientific topics.

Focuses on the science that applies computer technology to solve problems in chemistry, biochemistry and related fields.

A more non-technical blog relating to chemistry.

A forum for news, discussions, and opinions about the chemical sciences.

A blog dedicated to combinatorial chemistry.

Includes Web sites, discussion lists, and other links of interest to researchers in mass spectrometry.

Focuses on high quality, reproducible synthetic procedures.

A popular blog from the editors of Nature magazine aimed at the entire chemical community.

Explores current problems to which there may be chemical solutions in the near future.

The mission of the Energy Department is to ensure America’s security and prosperity by addressing its energy, environmental and nuclear challenges through transformative science and technology solutions.

Information produced by the National Nanotechnology Initiative (NNI), a clearinghouse for U.S. government agencies and programs concerned with nanotechnology research.

The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) measurements support the smallest of technologies to the largest and most complex of human-made creations—from nanoscale devices so tiny that tens of thousands can fit on the end of a single human hair up to earthquake-resistant skyscrapers and global communication networks.

Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.