Olin Library: Astronomy: Websites

"This list of astronomical resource sites has been created by the High Energy Astrophysics Science Archive Resarch Center (HEASARC) at NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center. It is intended as a resource for users who have a general interest in astronomy.

NASA's Vision: To discover and expand knowledge for the benefit of humanity.

Images, Multimedia Resources, Hypertext Documents and other resources to aid those interested Astronomy, Space Science and Physics.

A window into NASA's mission to conduct the first orbital study of the innermost planet.

Higher Education focuses on supporting institutions at this education level by strengthening their research capabilities as well as providing opportunities that attract and prepare increasing numbers of students for NASA-related careers.

The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 8.5 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints.

A NASA site dedicated to exploring the issue of life in the universe.

A commercial site dedicated to the study of life in the universe; heavy on news.

Excellent for research in astronautics; good for quick reference answers.

Scholarly source of current information on the search for other solar systems; includes bibliographies.

A collection of publicly available physics and astronomy online resources selected by Library of Congress staff. Attention: some full-text content of selected databases may be restricted to subscribers and/or subscribing institutions.

A collection of free online journals published in the areas of science, technology, and medicine, managed by Serials Solutions.

"Martin V. Zombeck's Handbook of Space Astronomy & Astrophysics is now on-line. Published by Cambridge University Press, this handbook has become an essential reference for space astronomy and astrophysics.

PLoS publishes peer-reviewed, open access scientific and medical journals that include original research as well as timely feature articles.

Views of the Solar System

An extraordinary compilation of high quality graphics and animations along with numerous other resources.

An online "interactive planetarium," organized around Sky Maps, Horizon Views, and Virtual Telescope.

The NASA Technical Report Server is a service that allows users to search the many different abstract and technical report servers maintained by various NASA centers and programs.

The SIMBAD astronomical database . . . brings together basic data, cross-identifications, observational measurements, and bibliography, for celestial objects outside the solar system: stars, galaxies, and nonstellar objects within our galaxy, or in extern