Understanding Healthcare Delivery Science:
This new text touches on policy issues but expands coverage to practical structural, analytic, data, and research methods used to improve the delivery of healthcare. There has always been a big gap between the people who deliver healthcare and those who study ways to improve healthcare. That is what this book is about. It includes super practical chapters and features that allow readers at all levels to develop a whole new set of tools to improve healthcare delivery whether they are on the delivery side or on the systems science side.
The book is divided into three Parts: Defining Healthcare Delivery Science; Tools to Improve Healthcare Delivery; and How to Use Analytics in Healthcare. The book includes excellent practical features to aid learning and retention, including Case Examples; Key Points; Cautions; and Links to External Resources.
The audience for this new book includes medical education and training; NP and PA education; allied health; health administration and leadership; and undergraduate programs in heath management which are spreading rapidly.
Pocket Guide to POCUS: Point-Of-Care Tips for Point-Of-Care Ultrasound
A unique pocket guide to the use of ultrasound at the point of care.
Lately, there has been an enormous amount of interest in the use of ultrasound for both procedural and diagnostic guidance at the point of care. Understanding that physicians both in practice and in training have limited time, Pocket Guide to POCUS has been intentionally and thoughtfully designed to be a portable quick reference to real-world clinical situations.
Pocket Guide to POCUS provides tips and reminders for issues and challenges encountered at the point of care. Questions such as what images to acquire, and how to get them are addressed as well as a quick glance at pathology in comparison to a normal image. For learners at all levels, this pocket guide will minimize the angst of scanning and prevent some of the more common pitfalls the authors have observed over their more than 50 cumulative years’ experience.
Each chapter of the book is divided into four sections:
This information is conveniently located on cards that can be removed from the book and brought with you to the bedside. You can take notes on the cards, check off the scans that you’ve done, and of course, refer to them in order to provide your patients with the best care possible.
Ganong’s Review of Medical Physiology, 26/e
A Doody’s Core Title for 2021!
For more than four decades, Ganong’s Review of Medical Physiology has been helping those in the medical field understand human and mammalian physiology. Applauded for its interesting and engagingly written style, Ganong’s concisely covers every important topic without sacrificing depth or readability, and delivers more detailed, high-yield information per page than any other similar text or review.
Thoroughly updated to reflect the latest research and developments in important areas such as chronic pain, reproductive physiology, and acid-base homeostasis, Ganong’s Review of Medical Physiology, Twenty-Sixth Edition incorporates examples from clinical medicine to illustrate important physiologic concepts. Ganong's will prove valuable to students who need a concise review for the USMLE, or physicians who want to keep pace with the ever-changing world of medical physiology.
Goodman & Gilman’s: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 13/e
The gold-standard of pharmacology texts and completely updated to reflect the latest research and developments.
A Doody’s Core Title for 2019!
Goodman & Gilman’s: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 13/e, represents the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. Goodman & Gilman’s careful balance of basic science and clinical application has guided thousands of practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing, and treating disease.
The 13th edition includes more than 500 color illustrations, with many new figures emphasizing mechanisms of drug action. More than 30 new contributors have added to this edition, while the focus on basic principles is undiminished.
This edition is enhanced by timely new content:
More than a textbook, Goodman & Gilman’s is a working template for the effective and rational prescribing of drugs in daily practice.
Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, 14/e
The most up-to-date, comprehensive, and authoritative pharmacology text in health medicine enhanced by a new full-color illustrations.
A Doody’s Core Title for 2019!
Organized to reflect the syllabi in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, 14/e, covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. Selection of the subject matter and order of its presentation are based on the authors’ many years’ experience in teaching this material to thousands of medical, pharmacy, dental, podiatry, nursing, and other health science students.
To be as clinically relevant as possible, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects, and case studies that introduce clinical problems in many chapters. Presented in full color and enhanced by more than three hundred illustrations (many new to this edition), Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, 14/e, features numerous summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information:
Smith's Patient Centered Interviewing: An Evidence-Based Method, 4/e
A Doody’s Core Title for 2021!
Smith’s Patient-Centered Interviewing, Fourth Edition is a practical introductory textbook covering the essentials of patient interviewing. The most evidence based-guide available on the topic, and endorsed by the Academy of Communication in Healthcare, this acclaimed resource applies the proven 5-Step approach which integrates patient and clinical centered skills to improve effectiveness without adding extra time to the interview duration.
Smith’s Patient-Centered Interviewing covers important topics such as:
The book’s user-friendly design features icons, boxed case vignettes, and the use of color to highlight key points. Learning aids include practice exercises in each chapter, a pocket card, lists of essential questions, and graphics that facilitate understanding and retention.
Pathophysiology of Disease: An Introduction to Clinical Medicine, 8/e
A full-color case-based review of the essentials of pathophysiology covering all major organs and systems with more than 130 case studies, including Q&A.
A Doody’s Core Title for 2019!
The goal of this trusted text is to introduce you to clinical medicine by reviewing the pathophysiologic basis of 132 diseases (and associated signs and symptoms) commonly encountered in medical practice. The authors, all experts in their respective fields, have provided a concise review of relevant normal structure and function of each body system, followed by a description of the pathophysiologic mechanisms that underlie several common diseases related to that system. The accessible presentation features high-quality full-color illustrations, and numerous tables and diagrams.
Each chapter of Pathophysiology of Disease concludes with a collection of case studies and questions designed to test your understanding of the pathophysiology of each clinical entity discussed. These case studies allow you to apply your knowledge to specific clinical situations. Detailed answers to each case study question are provided at the end of the book.
This unique interweaving of physiological and pathological concepts will put you on the path toward thinking about signs and symptoms in terms of their pathophysiologic basis, giving you an understanding of the "why" behind illness and treatment.
New features and updates to this edition:
Pathology: A Modern Case Study, 2/e
A unique case-based molecular approach to understanding pathology, Pathology: A Modern Case Study is a concise, focused text that emphasizes the molecular and cellular biology essential to understanding the concepts of disease causation. The book includes numerous case studies designed to highlight the role of the pathologist in the team that provides patient care. Pathology: A Modern Case Study examines the role of anatomic, clinical, and molecular pathologists in dedicated chapters and in descriptions of the pathology of specific organ systems.
Features:
Essential for undergraduate medical students and clinicians who wish to expand their knowledge pathology, Pathology: A Modern Case Study delivers valuable coverage that is directly related to a patient’s condition and the clinical practice of pathology.
Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg’s Medical Microbiology, 28/e
Understand the clinically relevant aspects of microbiology with this student-acclaimed, full-color review bolstered by case studies and hundreds of USMLE®-style review questions.
Since 1954, Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg’s Medical Microbiology has been hailed by students, instructors, and clinicians as the single-best resource for understanding the roles microorganisms play in human health and illness.
Concise and fully up to date, this trusted classic links fundamental principles with the diagnosis and treatment of microbial infections. Along with brief descriptions of each organism, you will find vital perspectives on pathogenesis, diagnostic laboratory tests, clinical findings, treatment, and epidemiology. The book also includes an entire chapter of case studies that focuses on differential diagnosis and management of microbial infections.
Here’s why Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg’s Medical Microbiology is essential for USMLE® review:
Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg’s Medical Microbiology, 28/e, effectively introduces you to basic clinical microbiology through the fields of bacteriology, mycology, and parasitology, giving you a thorough yet understandable review of the discipline. Begin your review with it and see why there is nothing as time tested or effective.
The first complete guide to the rapidly expanding field of telehealth.
From email to videoconferencing, telehealth puts real-time healthcare solutions at patients’ and clinicians’ fingertips. Every year, the field continues to evolve, enhancing access to healthcare, supporting clinicians, and improving the patient experience. However, since telehealth is in its infancy, no text has offered a comprehensive, definitive survey of this up-and-coming field—until now.
Written by past presidents of the American Telemedicine Association, Understanding Telehealth explains how clinical applications leveraging telehealth technology are optimizing healthcare delivery. In addition, this timely resource examines the bedrock principles of telehealth and highlights the safety standards involved in the diagnosis and treatment of patients through digital communications. Logically organized and supported by high-yield clinical vignettes, the book begins with essential background information, including a look at telehealth history, definitions and roles, and rural health. It then provides an overview of clinical services for adults, from telestroke to telepsychiatry. The third section addresses pediatric clinical services, encompassing pediatric emergency and critical care, telecardiology, and more.
Features:
Harrison's Manual of Medicine, 20/e
The Harrison’s Manual, derived from most clinically salient content featured in Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 20/e, delivers numerous clinical algorithms in one practical, portable resource. The manual also includes abundant quick reference tables, plus concise text---providing rapid access to bedside information when decisions need to be made quickly. This full color summary guide covers all diseases and conditions commonly seen in inpatient general medicine, so you can be sure to find invaluable content directly to your workflow and practice.
The 20th edition has been updated to reflect the latest clinical developments in medicine.
The manual truly makes it easy to find what you need at the point of care. The easy-to-navigate chapters cover symptoms/signs, medical emergencies, specific diseases, and care of the hospitalized patient, with a particular focus on:
In-depth summaries provide information on the key features of the diagnosis, clinical manifestations, and treatment of the major diseases that are likely to be encountered in medical practice. Also, extensive medical breakdowns are featured covering:
DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination, 11/e
The classic point-of-care guide to the undifferentiated patient - enhanced with even more color photographs Part physical examination primer, part differential diagnosis tool, DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination takes readers a step beyond elementary physical diagnosis. DeGowin's covers all physical examination techniques and procedures, but this highly practical point-of-care guide goes further, focusing on the meaning of signs and symptoms. It also shows readers how to catalog clinical findings resulting from the physical examination-and order them into a differential diagnosis. This classic text is unrivaled in its comprehensive coverage of differential diagnosis, organized by signs, symptoms, and syndromes. This edition reflects the latest developments in the evidence-based physical examination The perfect bride text between physical exam textbooks and clinical medicine textbooks.
Guide to Diagnostic Tests, 7/e
A concise guide to the selection and interpretation of more than 450 of the laboratory and microbiology tests most relevant to the general practice of medicine. This on-the-spot clinical companion also includes coverage of diagnostic imaging, electrocardiology, echocardiography, and the use of tests in differential diagnosis.
Symptom to Diagnosis: An Evidence-Based Guide, 4/e
An engaging case-based approach to learning the diagnostic process in internal medicine. Symptom to Diagnosis, 4/e, teaches an evidence-based, step-by-step process for evaluating, diagnosing, and treating patients based on their clinical complaints. By applying this process clinicians will be able to recognize specific diseases and prescribe the most effective therapy. Each chapter is built around a common patient complaint that illustrates essential concepts and provides insight into the process by which the differential diagnosis is identified. Coverage for each disease includes: Textbook Presentation, Disease Highlights, Evidence-Based Diagnosis, and Treatment; Enhanced by algorithms, summary tables, and questions that direct evaluation; Each chapter is built around patient cases that illustrate essential concepts; Clinical pearls appear in every chapter. The content structure of our best-selling text Symptom to Diagnosis, 4e by Stern et al. has been digitally optimized for a better user experience on AccessMedicine and is now live! The new presentation has been tested by medical students; they validated that the fantastic kernels of content, previously buried on ACM, can now be located quickly to help users with differential diagnosis. This is the second major title that has been optimized for a more efficient digital experience following the successful results of CMDT 2020.
Junqueira’s Basic Histology: Text and Atlas, 16/e:
This user-friendly text and atlas combination is filled with clear explanations, art, and micrographs to elucidate key concepts and facilitate learning.
For more than four decades, this trusted classic has been considered the hands-down best overview of human tissue structure and function. Accessible yet comprehensive, Junqueiras Basic Histology provides everything you need to know about cell biology and histology, integrating the material with that of biochemistry, immunology, endocrinology, and physiology; it provides an excellent foundation for subsequent studies in pathology. It covers all tissues, every organ system, organs, bone and cartilage, blood, skin, and more.
Formatted in a way that optimizes the learning process, Junqueira's explains how to study the structures of cells and tissues; the cell cytoplasm and nucleus; and the four basic tissue types and their role in the organ systems. Each chapter includes multiple-choice self-test questions enabling readers to assess their comprehension of important material; some questions utilizing clinical vignettes or cases to provide real-world relevance.
Junqueira's is written specifically for students of medicine and other health-related professions, as well as for advanced undergraduate courses in tissue biology—and there is nothing else like it.
Features:
In the Books tab in AccessMedicine, you will find some of the leading current, authoritative text resources. Check out some of the titles in the AccessMedicine library highlighted in the tabs above. Please view the complete library with the link below to access all titles in AccessMedicine not covered in this online user guide.
Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, 7/e
The gold-standard text on the diagnosis and treatment of disorders affecting the elderly completely updated with a new full-color presentation.
A Doody's Core Title for 2019!
The definitive treatise on the subject of geriatrics, this comprehensive text combines gerontology principles with clinical geriatrics, offering a uniquely holistic approach to this ever-expanding area of medicine. Written by some of the world’s most respected geriatricians, Hazzard’s Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, 7/e, presents up-to-date, evidence-based information in a rich new full-color design. Unmatched as a textbook, this classic is also valuable to fellows in geriatric medicine.
Hazzards’s Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, 7/e, is logically divided into five parts: Principles of Gerontology, Principles of Geriatrics, Geriatric Syndromes, Principles of Palliative Medicine, and Organ Systems and Diseases. Within its pages, you will find balanced, authoritative coverage of every essential topic – from evaluation and management to nutrition and palliative medicine.
Here’s why the 7th edition is the best edition ever:
The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine, 3/e
The updated visual atlas of family medicine—enhanced by more than 2,000 illustrations
A Doody’s Core Title for 2019!
The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine, 3/e, simplifies and supports visual diagnosis like no other guide. The text is bolstered by more than 2,000 illustrations, consisting of state-of-the-art photos and drawings, most in full color. Page after page, the book’s precise clinical images are integrated with evidence-based diagnostic pearls presented in bulleted text—ideal for time-pressed physicians.
Sections highlight specific diseases and disorders, organized by anatomic and physiologic systems, with each chapter opening with a patient story to connect the photographs with real-life clinical scenarios. Every condition features a consistent format that includes the patient story, Epidemiology, Etiology and Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Differential Diagnosis, and Management to aid the reader in navigating to the right section with ease and efficiency.
New to this edition:
CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment: Family Medicine, 5/e
An easy-to-use guide to the diagnosis, treatment, and management of the full range of clinical conditions seen in primary care. New content includes coverage of genetics and precision medicine use in family medicine, telehealth in family medicine, CTE and sports injuries, Zika, the opioid epidemic, Hepatitis C, expansion of the HIV section, veteran's health and PTSD, and more. The leading resource for USMLE Step 3 review, board certification and maintenance or recertification, this text is essential for primary care trainees, practicing physicians, advanced practice nurses, and physician assistants.
Features:
Greenspan's Basic and Clinical Endocrinology, 10e
A full-color guide to the entire field of clinical endocrinology and its scientific underpinnings updated with the latest breakthroughs and developments.
Greenspan’s Basic Clinical Endocrinology, 10/e, delivers a succinct leading-edge overview of the underlying molecular biology of the endocrine system and the latest perspectives on the diagnosis and treatment of specific diseases and disorders. Featuring an enhanced design that includes hundreds of full-color illustrations and clinical photographs, Greenspan’s is a true must-have during traditional or integrated courses in endocrinology endocrinology rotation or exam prep in internal medicine and endocrinology and as reference for disease management. Greenspan’s provides clinically relevant coverage of metabolic bone disease, pancreatic hormones and diabetes, mellitus, hypoglycemia, obesity, geriatric endocrinology, and many other diseases and disorders. Supporting this essential material is a handy appendix of normal hormone reference ranges across the lifespan.
Here’s why Greenspan’s is an essential tool for learning how to manage endocrine patients:
Fitzpatrick's Dermatology, 9/e
For nearly half a century, Fitzpatrick’s has been recognized worldwide as the field of dermatology’s cornerstone text. This trusted classic covers all of the essentials, from the basic science of the skin to the day-to-day clinical issues of managing common skin disorders. Backed by the expertise of more than 500 world-renowned contributors, it is the reference of choice for clinicians, students, and educators. Fitzpatrick’s skillful blending of science and clinical medicine is matched only by its scope, level of detail, and quality of presentation.
The 9th edition continues this tradition of excellence with sweeping changes designed to make it even more relevant to today’s practice and education.
New editors diverse in expertise and international in location of practice have endeavored to build on the achievements of previous editions, while providing fresh insight into the content and new thinking regarding optimal structure of the book.
Reorganized and updated content with important general basic science concepts extensively covered in dedicated chapters appearing at the beginning of the book, allowing subsequent clinical chapters to focus on relevant disease-specific pathophysiology, in addition to clinical features, diagnosis, clinical course, and management.
Unmatched visual presentation includes more than 3,000 illustrations, including more than 2,700 full-color photographs; all tables and At-a-Glance boxes are either new or completely revised.
An improved index to speed you to the information you require about a concept, condition, or therapy.
Fitzpatrick’s Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology, 8/e
A Doody's Core Title for 2019!
More than 1,000 full-color photographs speed diagnosis of the dermatologic conditions most often encountered in primary care.
One of the bestselling dermatology books in the world, this quick-reference clinical guide has virtually defined the field for thousands of physicians, dermatology residents, and medical students for more than three decades. Spanning the entire spectrum of skin problems, Fitzpatrick’s Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology, 8/e combines laser-precise color images of skin lesions along with an overview of epidemiology and pathophysiology, and detailed information on diagnosis and treatment.
Features:
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2021
Now includes a “Year in Review” highlighting over 180 recent medical advances since the last edition!
For 60 years, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment—the flagship volume of the renowned Lange medical series—has been delivering the authoritative information students, residents, and clinicians need to build their medical knowledge, expertise, and confidence. Covering the latest clinical developments in all facets of medicine and fully focused on bedside clinical issues, this new edition provides completely the latest guidelines, reference, drug prices, approved drugs, and evidence-based coverage of more than 1,000 diseases and disorders—all formatted to enable you to find the answers you need quickly and effortlessly.
This landmark guide covers inpatient and outpatient care, focusing on the diagnostic tools relevant to daily practice, and reviews all primary care topics, including gynecology/obstetrics, dermatology, ophthalmology, geriatrics, preventive medicine, psychiatry, and neurology.
Principles of Critical Care, 4/e
Quickly and accurately diagnose and treat the critically ill patient with guidance from the field's definitive text.
A Doody's Core Title for 2019!
"…Clearly the finest textbook available in the field." -- Critical Care Medicine
"…Very well done…unusually user-friendly…excellent…a significant contribution to the field. It should be placed not only in the critical care practitioner's library, but also in the rounds and nurses' conference rooms of critical care units." -- Journal of the American Medical Association
Considered the field's definitive text, Principles of Critical Care offers unmatched coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of the most common problems encountered in the practice of critical care. Written by expert critical care physicians who are also experienced teachers, the book features an organization, thoroughness, and clarity not found in any other reference on the topic. Within its pages, you will find comprehensive, authoritative discussion of every aspect of critical care medicine essential to successful clinical practice, ranging from basic principles to the latest technologies.
The fourth edition is highlighted by:
COVID-19 and the Heart: A Case-Based Pocket Guide
The Big Picture of Medical Biochemistry is a great resource to target what you really need to know to ace the course exams and the USMLE Step 1
300 Full Color Illustrations
Medical Biochemistry: The Big Picture is a unique biochemistry review that focuses on the medically applicable concepts and techniques that form the underpinnings of the diagnosis, prognosis, and treatment of medical conditions. Those preparing for the USMLE, residents, as well as clinicians who desire a better understanding of the biochemistry behind a particular pathology will find this book to be an essential reference. Featuring succinct, to-the-point text, more than 300 full-color illustrations, and a variety of learning aids, Medical Biochemistry: The Big Picture is designed to make complex concepts understandable in the shortest amount of time possible.
This full-color combination text and atlas features:
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 20/e
With more than 68 years in publication, Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine, 20/e, is trusted by generations of students and clinicians to maintain the ideal balance between the scientific basis of signs and symptoms and the clinical management of the patient, ensuring you deliver the best, most accurate care possible. Harrison’s landmark 20th edition is the leading authority on applied pathophysiology and clinical medicine.
Watch this video highlighting the 20th edition of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
Essential for practice and education, the landmark 20th edition features:
Support for differential diagnosis with details on causes of symptoms:
New part on frontiers in medicine:
Timely new chapters:
1,600 visual elements:
End-of-chapter suggested readings:
Bonus online content:
Learn on-the-go with the Harrison's App now available for download in the App Store and Google Play.
"The ability to look up information in the Harrison's textbook by cardinal symptoms and presentations of diseases is one of my favorite features of the textbook since symptom presentation is often what helps to guide our formulation of differential diagnoses and clinical decision making. The sections on How to Approach Patients with various conditions is a fantastic guide for clinical decision making, and the overview on core topics in Internal Medicine makes it my go-to source for either a quick review on a topic or in-depth query."
-- Juliessa M. Pavon, MD, Former Geriatrics Fellow, Duke University
Browse our video collection: A unique collection of anesthesiology procedural videos and animations designed to guide students, residents, faculty, and practicing physicians through basic and advanced skills.
Use the related links to explore further: Links to related AccessMedicine content appear throughout all content types in the site. A related content section appears in many of the texts' right sidebar with links to relevant media and other content.
For help, please reach out to Customer Success at McGraw Hill at CustomerSuccess@mheducation.com.
For institutional accounts:
For individual subscribers:
Feedback:
2 Minute Medicine (abbreviated 2MM) is an expert physician publishing group founded out of Harvard Medical School that provides concise, curated, and authoritative medical reports of breaking medical literature as well as seminal studies in medicine. The reports include links to the original article being reported on.
Browse reports by topics, including cardiology, chronic disease, dermatology, emergency medicine, endocrinology, gastroenterology, imaging and intervention, infectious disease, nephrology, neurology, obstetrics, oncology, ophthalmology, pediatrics, pre-clinical studies, psychiatry, public health, pulmonology, surgery, and urology.
The “Search Within” function allows users to quickly and easily find topics without scrolling through archives. A search bar appears below the topics drop-down menu, and users can type directly within the search bar which utilizes auto-suggest. Auto-suggest can also be disabled according to user preference.
--Daily Literature Reports by the 2 Minute Medicine® Publishing Group
Best Minds in Medicine on AccessMedicine provides the user with insight from some of the leading experts and authors whose resources are made available in AccessMedicine. These interviews are designed to raise awareness of and bring to life the expert contributors to AccessMedicine and the other Access specialty products.
