In the Books tab in AccessMedicine, you will find some of the leading current, authoritative text resources organized into categories in the left-hand sidebar, including basic sciences, critical care, endocrinology, internal medicine, family medicine, and many other disciplines.
Check out the library at these links:
The Study Tools tab in AccessMedicine provides:
The Drug Monographs in AccessMedicine can be searched, browsed alphabetically, or filtered by generics, trade names, and drug classes. Patient education handouts also are available in English and Spanish. The drug monographs are updated every two weeks.
Auscultation Classroom provides students with the ability to hear an abnormal heart sound, while simultaneously watching a graphic of the intracardiac abnormality that is occurring. The students learn proper auscultation techniques for each murmur. The modules also discuss basics regarding clinical findings associated with the murmurs. This method of learning is designed to help students grasp this difficult concept and solidify their understanding. The target audience includes medical students, NP students, and PA students.
Each module offers an introductory slide, an auscultation points slide, and a final slide. Please ensure that the user has the volume at an appropriate level to hear the murmur. If the volume is low, the murmur will not be heard.
Diagnostic and Imaging Studies includes over 30,000 world-class images useful for diagnosis that can be downloaded. We have more than 70 video clips of foundational diagnostic and imaging studies in five different specialties.
Harrison’s Pathophysiology Animations explain complex pathophysiology concepts in new and beautifully animated, easy-to-understand brief videos. Each episode covers a disease mechanism. Running time of each is a student-friendly 4-8 minutes. Nationally regarded educator Scott Stern, MD, from the University of Chicago wrote and narrated each episode, giving our series authenticity often lacking in other medical animations.
Harrison’s Podclass provides illuminating and engaging discussions on key principles of internal medicine, around board-style case vignettes from the acclaimed Harrison’s Self-Assessment and Board Review. The episodes are a user-friendly 4-8 minutes in length. AccessMedicine is mobile optimized, so you can open in a browser and listen on-the-go. Currently features over 100 new audio and podclasses.
These interactive modules allow for visualization of the human body in an interactive, 3D format where both Male Complete Anatomy Module and Female Complete Anatomy Module can be viewed. Choose a module and then utilize the options on the left-side of the screen to learn more about human anatomy.
Anatomy Module Features:
Expand: Provide your learners with more space to immerse in your interactive 3D experience with our new Expand mode. When embedded on desktop or Android (not available on iOS), learners can now expand the browser to span the entire screen without having to leave your page or open a new tab.
Tools: We're introducing a dedicated, and more scalable, toolbar that will promote exploration of the 3D model. "Dissect" is now called "Hide," and we're now giving users access to the "Fade" effect from Human Studio which will allow you to make a structure transparent. Dissection for removal by layers and structures, object tree, tools to identify and rotate.
Help: We've dramatically improved our "Help" experience with richer graphics that show learners on how to interact with the model and a comprehensive 3D interaction key that changes based on the device the learner is using (desktop or mobile).
Anatomy Descriptions: Learners will now have the option of reading more about specific anatomical structures as they explore. When available, individual structures will be linked to Wikipedia descriptions, which are generally sourced from Gray's Anatomy.
Anatomy Search: Learners will now be able to search for specific anatomical structures in your model by name or browse through all of the structures contained in the model in the Anatomy Tree. They can then click on the name to locate and zoom in on the structure in the model. The Anatomy Tree is now contained within the new Anatomy Search tool (right side of the search bar, tree icon).
Reset: Refresh the 3D model without having to reload the page.
Lectures are ready-to-view or ready-to-assign for a flipped classroom pedagogy, an online course, or as a knowledge refresher. Pharmacology lecture videos are also located under “Multimedia”, then “Pharmacology”. These lectures include the pharmacology topics of cardiovascular and neurology drugs and basic pharmacotherapeutics concepts.
Patient Interview Videos are of high quality and demonstrate how to communicate with patients in challenging and unusual situations. This resource addresses some of the “softer skills” in medical education and helps to teach emotional intelligence.
Patient Safety Modules will provide you with an introduction to the core concepts of patient safety in an interactive and self-paced learning environment. The current course includes three modules. Each module can be used as a stand-alone tool or as a component of a broader curriculum in patient safety. We strongly recommend that you work through each module (navigable on the left) from beginning to end because the concepts will build on each other within a single unit. The modules include activity buttons and video clips, so please be sure to explore the content available which will help you understand these concepts in your own role within the healthcare system.
Pharmacology video lectures include the pharmacology topics of cardiovascular and neurology drugs and basic pharmacotherapeutics concepts.
Physical Exam videos is a complete collection for the physical exam organized into categories from head to toe.
Procedural videos are available in AccessMedicine. It is the most complete collection of detailed procedural videos online designed to help users through basic and advanced skills procedures, brief interventions, and applications of decision rules. The videos are organized by different categories, such examination and evaluation, physiologic areas.
S2D: The Symptom to Diagnosis Podcast provides a case-based discussion of signs, symptoms and diagnostics tests to improve clinical reasoning and evidence-based practice.
Run the List Podcast:
Differential Diagnosis (Diagnosaurus, DDx):
For help, please reach out to Customer Success at McGraw Hill at CustomerSuccess@mheducation.com.
For institutional accounts:
For individual subscribers:
Cases in AccessMedicine provides materials for short, targeted case-based learning. They vary slightly, but for each case you get a patient history and systems review, short answer questions, clinical pearls, and references. Cases in AccessMedicine are organized into categories and based off different resources. Cases are durable URL-enabled and can be embedded into a course LMS page. The results of the quizzes can be emailed and collected for a grade, e.g. student to instructor.
Watch this brief overview video showing how to link to content.
From the AccessMedicine Channel, McGraw Hill Author Interviews: Maie El-Sourady, M.D., M.S., who opens up about her Vanderbilt Internal Medicine and Pediatrics Outpatient Curriculum on AccessMedicine:
Free case-based learning red paper
This free McGraw Hill red paper reviews the research on CBL and covers:
Hospital Corner provides users with curated content from the AccessMedicine tabs that were reviewed and selected for advanced learners at the resident trainee level and above. Resources include selected textbooks, board review and advanced clinical cases and questions, quick reference materials for the point-of-care, and procedure videos to hone intervention skills. The healthcare business titles needed to complete important quality improvement and patient safety projects are only found under the Books tab here in the Hospital Corner.
The Patient Education handouts in AccessMedicine provide: