DUGuides: Olin Library: Criminal Justice: Books, Films

Search the Olin Catalog

You can find books, DVDs, CDs, and more. If you can't locate a book from our library try getting it from MOBIUS.

MOBIUS Search the joint catalog of 60 academic libraries in Missouri
WorldCat If you can't find what you want in the Drury or MOBIUS catalogs, try WorldCat. You can request a book online using the ILL icon or click here

Library of Congress Classification - what those call #'s mean

HV6001-7220.5	Criminology
HV6035-6197	Criminal anthropology Including criminal types, criminal psychology, prison psychology, causes of crime
HV6201-6249	Criminal classes
HV6250-6250.4	Victims of crimes. Victimology
HV6251-6773.55	Crimes and offenses
HV6774-7220.5	Crimes and criminal classes
HV7231-9960	Criminal justice administration
HV7428	Social work with delinquents and criminals
HV7431	Prevention of crime, methods, etc.
HV7435-7439	Gun control
HV7551-8280.7	Police. Detectives. Constabulary
HV7935-8025	Administration and organization
HV8031-8080	Police duty. Methods of protection
HV8035-8069	Special classes of crimes, offenses and criminals
HV8073-8079.35	Investigation of crimes. Examination and identification of prisoners
HV8079.2-8079.35	Police social work

Selected Reference Books - (2nd Floor &/or eBooks)

Reference books are found on the 2nd floor, west side on the shelves that move.

Corporate Crime by Richard D. Hartley
Call Number: eBook - connect via the title above

ISBN: 159884086X

Publication Date: 2008

Corporate Crime examines the ever-present problem of white-collar and corporate crime, not only within the United States but also worldwide.

Crime Classification Manual by John E. Douglas
Call Number: REFERENCE HV6253 .C75 1991

ISBN: 0669246387

This text classifies the three major felonies - murder, arson, and sexual assault - based on the motivation of the offender, standardizing in one place the language and terminology used throughout the criminal justice system. It should provide police officers, detectives, homicide investigators, and other law enforcement personnel, in any size community, access to the same information as used by the FBI to coordinate their investigations.
Crime state rankings (annual publication)
Call Number: REFERENCE HV6787 .C77

Olin Library has 1994-2011. Good for comparative statistics.
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice by Joshua Dressler, editor in chief
Call Number: REFERENCE HV6017 .E52 2002 v.1-4

ISBN: 002865319X

A complete revision of the 1982 edition, the Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice deals with not only law but also sociology, psychology, history and economics.
Encyclopedia of Murder and Violent Crime by Eric W. Hickey (Editor)
Call Number: REFERENCE HV6515 .E5323 2003

ISBN: 076192437X

This comprehensive single-volume encyclopedia contains a wealth of material on killing and other violent behavior, as well as detailed information on a host of criminal cases from local decisions to Supreme Court rulings. The Encyclopedia of Murder and Violent Crime includes nearly 500 entries that range from Antisocial Personality Disorder and the Beltway Snipers to the infamous Zodiac Murders.
Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment, and Recovery by Nancy A. Roget (Editor); Gary L. Fisher (Editor)
Call Number: REFERENCE RC563.4 .E53 2009 v.1-2

ISBN: 1412950848

"The scope includes behavioral addictions such as eating disorders, gambling and compulsive shopping. Preparation of the profession is heavily featured in numerous articles on standards, training, ethics and professional organizations. An emphasis on expectations and current practice make this set and excellent resource for those preparing for work in their fields.
Global Organized Crime by Mitchel P. Roth
Call Number: eBook - connect via the title above

ISBN: 1598843338

Global organized crime : a brief history -- Problems, controversies, and solutions -- Global organized crime groups -- Chronology -- Biographical sketches -- Data and documents -- Directory of organizations -- Resources
Organized Crime by Patrick J. Ryan
Call Number: REFERENCE HV6441 .R9 1995 (and eBook link in title)

ISBN: 0874367468

* Discusses the legislative and law enforcement milestones used to combat organized crime

Google Books

A great tool to discover books...THEN see if we have them in MOBIUS or WorldCat to borrow them for free.