Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide contains resources designed to aid you in your research.
Use the tabs across the top of the guide to find books, articles, and web pages in this subject area. The Style Box will help you to properly cite the resources you find, find helpful guides and research tools.
As always, if you have questions contact your Librarian for further assistance.
"History, in its broadest sense, is the story of humanity's past. It also refers to the recording of that past. The diverse sources of history include books, newspapers, printed documents, personal papers, and other archival records, artifacts, and oral accounts.
Historians use this material to form coherent narratives and uncover linked sequences and patterns in past events. Most histories are concerned with causality, that is, why certain outcomes happened as they did, and how they are linked to earlier events."--Columbia Encyclopedia (Columbia University Press)
Olin Library Web Page
Use this link to find everything you need to know about the Olin Library: our hours, a list of our databases, search the Drury/Swan catalog, the Mobius consortium catalog, circulation policies, plus a lot more.
Academic Video Online (AVON)
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 68,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
eBooks Collection (Ebsco)
Access over 230,000 books in all disciplines.
"Search all scholarly literature from one convenient place
Explore related works, citations, authors, and publications
Locate the complete document through your library or on the web
Keep up with recent developments in any area of research
Check who's citing your publications, create a public author profile"
Enter the name of a journal and see if it is indexed in any of the databases you have access to.
Full text online backfiles of core scholarly journals on many subjects. JSTOR's full-text coverage begins at the first issue of each journal and usually ends within five years of the present.