Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art & Architecture Image Sources
Cities and Buildings Database
One of the University of Washington's digital collections
Digital Imaging Project
Images selected and organized by Mary Ann Sullivan, Bluffton Univ.
Historic American Buildings Survey
Administered since 1933 through cooperative agreements with the National Park Service, the Library of Congress, and the private sector, ongoing programs of the National Park Service have recorded America's built environment in multiformat surveys comprising more than 581,000 measured drawings, large-format photographs, and written histories for more than 43,000 historic structures and sites dating from Pre-Columbian times to the twentieth century.
From the Royal Institute of Brisish Architects.
Finding Journal Articles - Databases
JSTOR - The Scholarly Journal Archive
Full text journals in all disciplines, with 27 focusing on architecture. Browse by subject to see which journals are listed.
Giant multidisciplinary database - most articles are in full text.
RIBA library catalog
Royal Institute of British Architects Library Catalog. They index 300 architecture journals, and sometimes more quickly than Avery. Be sure to limit your search to "articles" if you're looking only for journal articles.
PADDI - Planning Architecture Design Database Ireland
A book and periodical database for architecture in Ireland. Product of a joint effort by the libraries of Queen’s University Belfast and University College Dublin
If you know the title of a journal and wonder if we have it in print or online, search for it with this link.
Society of Architectural Historians Wiki
Journal Searching Tip
Architecture is a discipline that touches on many disciplines. Don't neglect to search other relevant journal databases if, for example, you're looking at the social, scientific, or the business aspects of architecture. You can find our whole list of databases here.
Associate Librarian for Art, Architecture, Philosophy & Religion