LIBRARY MATERIALS & COLLECTIONS
CIRCULATION OF MATERIALS
COLLECTION INFORMATION
ARCHIVES (See SPECIAL COLLECTIONS)
The archives are kept in
the vault in the Special Collections area.
All permanent records and designated collections of books are kept in the
archives. The librarian responsible for the Special Collections will help
someone wanting information from the archives.
If a patron needs to see material, they must contact the Archives
librarian for an appointment. These
materials do not circulate.
AUDIO COLLECTION
The audio collection is
kept behind the Circulation Desk area. The
material is available for support of classroom instruction or personal use. It is available to Drury faculty, staff and
students. The collection includes (1)
audio tape cassettes, (2) compact disks, and (3) computer disks.
BINDERY
Books that are in need of
repair and/or binding are sent back to the Cataloging Department with a mending
slip explaining the problem. The
books sent to the bindery, or those being mended, are noted in the online
computer system so that patrons know that the book(s) are not available. When the books return from the bindery or are
repaired they are brought by the Cataloging Department to the Circulation Desk
to be checked in and shelved.
CAPSTONES
Capstones are research
papers from students receiving a master’s degree in education. Patrons checking these out may need to see a
list of titles. These are kept in a
plastic protective folder at the beginning of the Capstones.
We keep two years of
Capstones in the Circulation area on a 2-hour reserve basis. Like other 2-hour reserves, they are not to
leave the library. A patron may check
out a maximum of two at a time.
In the fall, the head of
the Education Department adds the new Capstones and removes the oldest group.
The older copies will need to be withdrawn and the new copies added to the
computer system.
DRURY MIRROR
The Drury Mirror is the
school’s newspaper that is put out every week during the fall and spring
semesters. The bound copies are kept
beside the Capstones in Circulation. They
may be checked out as a 2-hour reserve to be kept in the library. There are current copies for the students to
pick up at the Circulation Desk beside the main doors.
EDUCATION CURRICULUM
The Education Curriculum
is located on the second floor on the east side. It contains textbooks and teaching materials for grades K-12. Education Curriculum materials do not check
out.
INDEXES AND ABSTRACTS
Used mostly for
retrospective bibliographical searches on topics from older periodicals and
monographs. These are shelved in the reference
collection or in the general collection.
JUVENILE BOOKS (juv)
Books with a small ‘juv’
before the call number are from the Juvenile Collection. The “j” does not enter into the filing or
shelving process, it merely indicates a special location. They are shelved on the second floor east
wall. The circulation period is 21 days. These materials may circulate through MOBIUS.
LAW COLLECTION
The Law Collection is located
on the second floor on the west side on the south end of the movable shelving. The collection is comprised of state and
federal materials, and supports the teaching and research needs of the
paralegal and criminology programs of the university. They do not circulate.
MAIN COLLECTION
It is the largest
collection of books with special notation before the call number. These books are housed on the second floor. They have a regular circulation period of 21
days. These materials may circulate through
MOBIUS.
MICROFICHE AND MICROFILM
This collection consists
of full copies of older periodicals and newspapers. Pages can be searched and printed. Microform
publications are library use only. Microform reader/printers are available for
patron use in front of the Circulation Desk.
OVERSIZED (OVRSZE) AND DOUBLE-OVERSIZED (DBL
OVRSZE) BOOKS
Books marked ‘OVERSIZE’
or ‘DOUBLE OVERSIZE’ before the call number are shelved in a separate section
designed to accommodate their larger size. This collection can be found on the second
floor behind the Z’s. The ‘OVERSIZE’ or
‘DOUBLE OVERSIZE’ has no effect on the shelving order of the books. They have a regular circulation period of 21
days. These materials may circulate
through MOBIUS.
RARE BOOK ROOM (See SPECIAL COLLECTIONS)
REFERENCE
These books are
designated by REF before the call number and do not normally circulate. If a
patron requests that a REF book be checked out, refer them to the reference department
to make exceptions.
There are some Reference
books shelved in the Permanent Reserve area. These are generally given a 2-hour
checkout period to be used in the library only.
RESERVES
Faculty Reserves and
Permanent Reserves are located in the Circulation area. There are several options for faculty reserves
in terms of checkout period that can be chosen by faculty. Checkout periods for permanent reserves are
established by library faculty. Only
Drury students, staff, and faculty are allowed to check out reserves.
Fines for overdue hourly reserves
are $1.00 per hour that the library is open up to a maximum of $20.00. Fines for other overdue reserves are $1.00 per
day up to a maximum of $20.00.
SLIDES
Located in the lower
level, the Slide
Slides are circulated
directly from the slide library by slide library personnel or their
backup. Hours are posted on the door
each semester. Circulation is open to all Drury faculty, students and staff. The
circulation period for students is two days. The circulation period for faculty
and staff is two weeks. Overdue fines for students are $.25 per slide per day. Replacement fee
for lost slides is $6.00 per slide.
THE SOU’WESTER
Copies of The Sou’Wester (1903-2000), Drury’s
yearbook, are located behind the Circulation Desk beside the Capstones and Drury Mirror. They have a 2-hour circulation period. Some years have extra copies kept in the
Archives.
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS/RARE BOOKS ROOM
These books are stored in
a special collection area because they are rare, delicate, costly, or in a
non-traditional format. They can be
checked out at the discretion of the Special Collections Librarian/Archivist or
the
Books/Periodicals
Books and periodicals in
Special Collections do not circulate. Drury
faculty, students, and staff may use these materials within the library. Non-Drury patrons with legitimate research
needs may use these with the permission of the Special Collections Librarian/Archivist
or the
Note: If an item is in a very fragile condition or an
unusual format (loose plates, etc.), the Special Collections
Librarian/Archivist may permit the patron to view the item only in the Rare
Book Room, under the supervision of Special Collections Staff.
Additional Note:
In some instances, the Special
Collections Librarian/Archivist or
Other Archival Materials
Other Special Collections
materials (photographs, papers, etc.) may be viewed by Drury faculty, students
and staff in the Rare Book Room. Patrons
will always be accompanied by a Special Collections staff person.
Other materials in
Special Collections may be checked out for special projects. In such cases, Special Collections staff will
compile a detailed inventory of the material being checked out. This inventory will also list the patron’s
name and phone number. Three copies of
this inventory will be produced: one for the patron, one for the Special
Collections Librarian, and one to be placed with the material that is being
checked out.
Non-Drury patrons with
legitimate research needs may use these with the permission of the Special
Collections and Archives Librarian and the Director of the
VIDEO COLLECTION
The Video Collection includes
materials in both VHS tape and DVD format.
It is kept behind the Circulation Desk or in the Video Closet. A listing of video items can be found in two
binders kept at the Circulation counter. These items are available for support of
classroom instruction and personal use. The
videos are separated into three main categories: Asian, Entertainment, and
Educational. They are only available to
Drury faculty, staff and students with a limit of 3 barcoded videos at a time.
If a video is needed for
class use, a Circulation Manager can alter the circulation period at his/her
discretion. Videos are not held or put
aside for faculty, adjunct faculty, staff or students for private use, but may
be booked for those with faculty status. See below.
Videos may be booked for classroom instruction only by Drury
adjunct faculty and full-time faculty on a first-come-first-served basis. Bookings will not be taken for private use of
the videos. To be assured of obtaining
the item desired, the reservation is recommended to be made at least 7 days in
advance.
Videos not picked up
after the reservation’s ending date will be released for circulation. Faculty
semester reserve of videos/DVDs is on an individual case and circumstance
basis.
Off-Campus Services for Videos
Students attending and
faculty teaching at Drury’s satellite campuses may request videos. The requests
may be made by email or telephone.
Fines will be collected
for overdue off-campus visual materials. The video collection of the Olin
1. Videos may be identified through the library’s Website at http://library.drury.edu.
2. Videos may be requested in one of three ways:
a. By
using the Off Campus Interlibrary Loan Form under the Interlibrary Loan link on
the library’s Website.
b. By
sending an email request with the appropriate information to circdesk@drury.edu, bdickensheet@drury.edu, or tsulliva@drury.edu.
c. By
calling one of the following two numbers in the Olin
3. Videos
may be booked by email or telephone early in the semester for the days they
will be needed. However, the instructor will be responsible for
formally requesting the item within five days of the date needed so that ILL
staff can check it out and mail it.
4. In
requesting the mailing of an item, patrons should be aware of transit time,
particularly if requesting on a Friday. Our staff do not mail items out on
Saturday or Sunday. The request must
reach the Olin
5. The
item will be checked out for two weeks to allow for transit time in both
directions. However, we urge patrons to return items to us as quickly as
possible after use. Others may be
waiting to use it.
6. The
Olin
7. Patrons should not send materials to us
through the “courier.” There is no structured courier service
operating daily, so this can slow down return time by many days.
8. At
the moment, we do not charge fines to faculty, so we depend on your good will
in returning materials on time, preferably before the due date when possible.
Video
mailing boxes and labels at Circulation
1. Off-campus
faculty and students who check out videos in person can be provided with a
mailing box containing one padded envelope for each video.
2. Each
box will have a return mailing label and sufficient postage for all of the
padded envelopes and videos to be mailed back to the Olin
3. Interlibrary
Loan will supply the Circulation Desk with boxes and padded envelopes in those
boxes for the return of videos borrowed by off-campus faculty or students.
Library
Services to Satellite Campuses
The following rules apply to students, faculty,
and staff at the satellite campuses.
1. They
may borrow books and educational videos from Olin Library and obtain copies of
articles from journals owned by the library at no cost via email or phone
requests.
2. They
may borrow books through SWAN/MOBIUS.
3. They
may borrow books and obtain articles through traditional Interlibrary Loan with
no additional charges.
4. Interlibrary
Loan personnel will mail all books, videos, and articles directly to the
borrowing patron’s home at no cost to the patron.
5. Loan
periods: Olin/SWAN/MOBIUS books – 3 weeks; Olin videos – 14 days;
6. A
mailing label and a metered sticker with sufficient return postage will be
included in the box of books or videos.
7. Overdue
fines will be levied and collected for books and returnable items borrowed by
students/staff from Olin Library and through traditional Interlibrary Loan.
8. Circulation
personnel will collect payment of the fees/fines so that proper accounting
records may be maintained and the fees/fines may be removed from the patron’s
circulation record when payments are made.
BUILDING AND FACILITIES USE
The following procedures
serve as guidelines for library staff to follow when the occasion demands an
action of some kind to ensure the proper functioning of the library, and the
safety and security of the persons and materials within. Priority use is given to library related
functions and maintaining a library environment conducive to reading and study.
The following procedures
serves as guidelines for library staff to follow.
Alumni rights and privileges
DU alumni may check out up
to five books at a time from the Olin Library circulating collection.
DU alumni may use
magazines, journals and newspapers within the library.
DU alumni may use
reference resources and indexing and abstracting tools, whether print or
electronic, within the library. Student
needs for electronic database access will take precedence over alumni use. Because of licensing restrictions, alumni may
not access electronic databases remotely.
DU alumni may use
Interlibrary Loan with an alumni card.
DU alumni with an alumni
card may use the computers in the Computer Lab or on the first floor of the
library.
DU alumni may reserve
library rooms at the discretion of the librarians, though not for commercial
use or financial gain.
Other persons affiliated with the university
This group consists of
guests of
The constituencies of consortium partners
This group consists of
the students and faculty of LIBRA, SWAN and MOBIUS member institutions.
Students and faculty of
the LIBRA consortium may use the print and electronic collections within the library. Members of LIBRA are
Students and faculty of
the SWAN cluster and the larger MOBIUS consortium may use the print and
electronic collections within the library and have different checkout and loan
rules applicable to them than members of LIBRA who are not also members of
SWAN/MOBIUS. Members of SWAN are
Students and faculty of
the
The Public
The public is restricted
to the use of the print collections within the library. The public may only use computers to verify
the presence of specific materials in the print collections of the library, and
may not use the computers for any other purpose. Members of the public are not allowed to use a
portable computing device equipped with wireless technology to access the
Internet or any of the electronic collections of the Olin
Study areas: Seminar Rooms 203 and 214, Conference
Room 122, Classroom 006, Chalk Rooms 205, 212, 213
These rooms are for the
use of students, staff, faculty, and alumni of the university. Reservations
may be made on a week-to-week basis only, and may not be placed on a regular
schedule. Exceptions to this are the President’s Council, standing faculty
governance committees, and the use of Classroom 006 and Computer Lab 020 by the
Registrar’s Office for the teaching of semester courses.
Bibliographic instruction
sessions have priority over a group study hall.
Repeated irresponsible or
disruptive behavior shall be cause for removal from a room and the loss of
reservation privileges, under the guideline that an oral warning shall precede
a decision for removal or loss of privilege.
Problem areas of library service
Food and tobacco. Food is not allowed in the library except in the case of an
official event in which food is catered. Beverages are allowed in the library provided
they are in “spillproof” containers, which are understood to be containers with
screw-on lids, push-pull tops, or lidded thermal mugs. Tobacco use is not allowed in the library. No food or drink is allowed in the Computer
Lab.
Noise.
Disruptive noise is not permitted.
Disruptive behavior. Disruptions could include sexual displays,
vandalism, harassment of any kind, vagrancy, trespassing, etc. Generally, a
staff response should be to call Drury Security (x7400) and ask for assistance,
describing the person or persons causing the disturbance to the Security
Officer.
Walkouts of library
materials can generally be handled by politely asking the person to return to
Circulation where a proper checkout can occur. If, however, a request to return to the
Circulation Desk is refused, Drury Security should be immediately called and a
description of the person given to the Security Officer.
Library employees may ask anyone in the library
for identification. If a request
for identification is refused, the library employee should immediately call
Security (x7400) and ask for assistance.
Suggestions and complaints. Library users may make suggestions or register
complaints via two methods.
1. Patrons
who want to register a complaint may do so with a library staff person, either
at the Reference Desk or at Circulation. A complaint form is kept at the Reference Desk
and at the Circulation Desk. The user
should be directed to fill out the form as completely as possible.
2. Also,
suggestions and complaints may be filed by filling out a suggestion form and
placing it in the Suggestion Box, both of which are located just to the west of
the entranceway.
WHO CAN
USE THE DRURY LIBRARY?
1. Drury
students who are currently enrolled in Drury College and the College of
Graduate and Continuing Studies, including those at the satellite campuses.
2. Full-time
and adjunct faculty
3. Retired
Drury faculty (full-time only) and staff
4. Drury
staff
5. Drury
faculty and staff spouses and partners (with special cards)
6. Drury
alumni
7. All
SWAN member institutions: Drury University, Crowder College, Cottey College,
MSSU, SBU, OTC, MSU, Baptist Bible College, Assemblies of God Theological
Seminary, Forest Institute of Professional Psychology
8. MOBIUS
member institutions (INN-Reach or Visitor Check-Out)
9. Faculty
and students currently enrolled at Evangel University, Central Bible College,
Ozark Christian College (Joplin), College of the Ozarks (Branson), and the Cox
College of Nursing
10. Summerscape
and
11.
12. Mature
Learners Institute participants
13. Walk-in
public (may use computers to access the automated catalog only and may use
printed material within the library).
If an ID does not have a photo, a driver’s license
is required to check out an item.
Interlibrary loan service is not available to
patrons who are students at other schools. They should
directed to their school’s ILL service or to the
public library ILL.
EQUIPMENT
FOR PATRON USE
Copiers
and Microform Machines
There are 2 copiers on
the first floor provided for patrons to copy paper materials and one machine that
copies microforms. Information
concerning the use of these machines is provided by Circulation staff and
librarians. Student assistants will be
trained to use the machines.
Carbon Copy is
responsible for the copiers and for collecting copier monies.
Faculty/Department Copier Use
Department codes can by
punched into the keypad to make copies. If
someone does not know their code they may call Carbon Copy.
Overhead and Slide Projectors
The projectors are kept
in the Video Closet and can be checked out for in-library use only.
Exceptions may be made at the discretion of the library staff.
Most common use is in the
Seminar and Olin Rooms. Often they are
left in a reserved room because a librarian knows that the next reservation
requires use of a projector or because the professor assigned to a room for a
semester long course makes regular use of the equipment. Circulation staff and librarians work
together moving equipment to the proper locations.
Portable Stereos/Cassette Players/CD Player
There are portable
cassette stereo systems and a CD player available for patron use. Headphones are recommended so that other
library users are not disturbed.
There is a portable
stereo/cassette/CD player which may be checked out for use in the library. It is used primarily for class projects or
faculty presentations. It is stored in
the Video Closet.
There are two small
cassette players which may checked out and taken out of the library. They are stored in the Video closet.
TV/VCR/DVD Player
There are 3 televisions
with built-in VHS players for patron use in the microprint area. One of those has a DVD player attached. Headphones are suggested so that other library
patrons are not disturbed.
Portable Screen
Primarily for in-library
use. It is occasionally checked out to
Drury students, staff, and faculty for out-of-library use.
Headphones
Headphones are available
for patron use. They are located in the Video Closet cabinets and can be
checked out for 2 hours. They are for use
within the library only.
LOAN PERIODS
Students: See “Item Loan Rules for Circulation”
