Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Articles are identified through specialized databases that index the contents of journals. Besides keyword searching, these databases normally provide assigned subject terms to increase searching precision. Keyword searching, using whatever terms occur to you, can be helpful in identifying a list of useful records whose subject terms you can then identify and search. The box to the right lists the most useful databases for finding articles relating to philosophy.
Journal Article Index Links
Philosopher's Index (via Ebsco)
An index to the contents of more than 680 philosophy journals since 1940.
ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated full-text database in the market today, with thousands of periodical titles and millions of full-text articles available.
Academic Search Elite (via Ebsco)
Full text for more than 2,100 journals. Nearly 150 journals have PDF images dating back to 1985.
Full text coverage from journal date of inception (some beginning 1800s) for a range of disciplines including: social sciences, ecology & evolutionary biology, education, business, language & literature, mathematics and 103 philosophy journals.
If you know the title of a journal and wonder if we have it in print or online, search for it with this link.
If you are using a computer recognized as a Drury computer, you will be connected automatically to the databases the library subscribes to. If not, you will be asked to authenticate yourself by entering your Drury username and password. You must have a Drury e-mail account.