Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Concise Encyclopedia of Plant Pathology
This comprehensive volume covers the entire field of plant pathology. It does not merely define the numerous subjects covered but describes them in detail. Plus a complete list of crop diseases, accepted names, synonyms, and anamorphic/telemorphic names of pathogens.
Mosby's Handbook of Herbs & Natural Supplements
Presents herb and supplement profiles in a convenient, A-Z format for fast reference.
Plant & Flower Dictionary
Botany.com's botanical dictionary of plants and flowers. A botanical dictionary is also commonly referred to as a plant dictionary or flower dictionary. Use this outdoor and indoor plant resource to look up words used to describe plants, flower parts, typ
This comprehensive database of over 38,000 plants can be searched using common plant names, botanical or family names. Detailed plant care sheets include information on growing conditions, common pests and diseases.
Databases & Web Sites
Biodiversity Heritage Library
The BHL will provide basic, important content for immediate research and for multiple bioinformatics initiatives. For the first time in history, the core of our natural history and herbaria library collections will be available to a truly global audience.
Botanicus - Missouri Botanical Garden
Botanicus is a freely accessible portal to digitized full-text historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library. With over 6,000 books and 40 journals, the selection of digitized material focuses primarily on beautifully illustrated volumes from the Garden Library's rare book collection.
JSTOR - Botany Journals
Botany and Plant Sciences Journals that have full-text access to their articles.
Kew Scientific Research & Data
Kew's mission is to inspire and deliver science-based plant conservation worldwide, enhancing the quality of life. This site provides specialist information on Kew's scientific research, data and resources.
Missouri Botanical Garden Archives
A digital library of more than 500 images digitized from glass plate negatives, hand-tinted prints, magic lantern slides, and stereographs from Garden archives documents the creation and the development of the Missouri Botanical Garden.
National Invasive Species Information Center
Gateway to invasive species information; covering Federal, State, local, and international sources.
The Plant List
The Plant List is a collaboration between the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, and Missouri Botanical Gardens of a working list of all known plant species. Version 1 aims to be comprehensive for species of Vascular plant (flowering plants, conifers, ferns and their allies) and of Bryophytes (mosses and liverworts).
The Plant List provides the Accepted Latin name for most species, with links to all Synonyms by which that species has been known. It also includes Unresolved names for which the contributing data sources did not contain sufficient evidence to decide whether they were Accepted or Synonyms.
USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.