Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries / Glossaries
Medline Plus - Encyclopedia
The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
Merriam-Webster Medical Dictionary
Search medical terms and abbreviations with the most up-to-date and comprehensive medical dictionary from the reference experts at Merriam-Webster. Master today's medical vocabulary. Become an informed health-care consumer!
Taber's Medical Dictionary Online
The latest edition of Taber’s Medical Dictionary Online provides more than 75,000 definitions, 33,700 audio pronunciations, 1,300 images, and 130 videos
Open access publisher with search links to PubMed and other databases.
BioMedical Engineering Network
Links to resources, societies, publications and more.
The Merck Manuals are a comprehensive medical information source covering thousands of topics in all fields of medicine. They are offered as a free public service to health care professionals and the general public.
BioMedical Engineering Society
The vision of the Biomedical Engineering Society is to serve as the lead society and professional home for biomedical engineering and bioengineering by fostering translation of biomedical engineering and technology into industrial and clinical applications; holding top-quality scientific meetings…
Biomedical engineering is the application of engineering
principles and techniques to the medical field. This field seeks to
close the gap between engineering and medicine. It combines the design
and problem solving skills of engineering with medical and biological sciences to improve healthcare diagnosis and treatment.
Foundation for Biomedical Research
The Foundation for Biomedical Research (FBR) is the nation's oldest and largest organization dedicated to improving human and veterinary health by promoting public understanding and support for humane and responsible animal research.
BioMedical Engineering OnLine
Open access to all articles.
Annals of Biomedical Engineering
Presents original research in the following areas: tissue and cellular engineering and biotechnology; biomaterials and biological interfaces; biological signal processing and instrumentation; biomechanics, rheology, and molecular motion; dynamical, regulatory, and integrative biology; transport phenomena, systems analysis and electrophysiology; imaging. Some open access articles are available.